Reelsaw vs Vizard

Vizard AI alternative without the credit meter

Vizard is a hosted AI clipper with a free tier, scheduled posting and 4K export on paid plans. Reelsaw is the self-hosted route: the same transcribe, pick, reframe, caption pipeline, but as software you own and run.

Prices and limits below come from Vizard's public pricing page on the date shown. Where the page did not show a stable number, this page says so instead of guessing.

Pricing checked 2026-10-18 on each vendor's public page. Vendors change plans without notice; verify before you buy.

What Vizard costs

A free plan metered in credits (one credit per upload minute) and two paid tiers that remove the watermark and raise export quality to 4K.

Vizard plans
PlanPriceWhat it includes
Free$060 upload minutes a month, 1 GB uploads, 720p export, 10-minute export length, 3-day video storage, 1 social account
CreatorPriced by yearly credit bundle600 upload minutes a month and up, 30 GB uploads, 4K export, any export length, 100 GB storage, 6 social accounts, scheduled posts, no watermark
BusinessPriced by yearly credit bundleEverything in Creator, shared workspace, 20 social accounts, team seats, brand kit, unlimited storage

The page's credit selector ran from 7,200 to 74,400 credits a year and did not display a fixed monthly dollar figure when checked; third-party listings put Creator at $29 a month or about $14.50 a month billed yearly. Check the vendor page.

What Reelsaw costs for the same job

The software is free under the AGPL-3.0 and there is no hosted plan to upsell you to. What you pay for is the machine it runs on and, only if you choose cloud models, the per-call price of those models.

Fully local: Ollama for the language model and Speaches (Whisper) for transcription. The installer picks a model by GPU memory or RAM (qwen2.5:14b with 24 GB of RAM or a 12 GB GPU, qwen2.5:7b from 12 GB, gemma3:4b below that), reuses one Ollama already has, and puts both on an NVIDIA GPU when there is one. Nothing leaves the box and there is no per-minute cost at all.

With cloud models: set OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Groq, Deepgram, AssemblyAI or any OpenAI-compatible endpoint as a provider:model string and you pay that vendor's metered price for transcription minutes and a few thousand tokens of selection per video. There is no Reelsaw margin on top.

Vizard vs Reelsaw, feature by feature

Vizard and Reelsaw compared
ReelsawVizard
Runs fully local, no API keysYes, and it is the installer's default: Ollama for the language model, a local Whisper for transcription, on-device alignment and face detection. Nothing leaves the machineNo, the video is uploaded to the vendor
Model providersAny, for each of the three models separately: OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Groq, Deepgram, AssemblyAI, Vercel AI Gateway, Ollama, vLLM, LM Studio or any OpenAI-compatible server. No vendor is baked in; admins switch at runtimeVizard's own models; not configurable
Entry price$0. AGPL-3.0 software; you supply the machine and, if you want cloud models, the API keysCreator plan (yearly credit bundle; about $14.50 to $29 a month per third-party listings)
Free tierEverything, with no plan and no meterYes: 60 upload minutes a month, 720p export, 3-day storage
WatermarkNeverRemoved on Creator and up ('No watermark' is listed as a Creator feature)
Open sourceYes, AGPL-3.0, pure TypeScriptNo
Self-hostableYes: Docker Compose, one-command installer for macOS, Linux and WindowsNo, cloud only
AI moment detectionYes: map, pool, rank with pairwise comparison; any language model, optional separate judge modelYes
Face-tracked 9:16 reframingYes: face, split, stack and fit layouts per segment; 1.2 MB UltraFace detector on the CPUYes
Word-level captionsYes: karaoke highlight, AI-picked key words, boxed or outlined, drag positions on a live previewYes
Filler and false-start removalYes: jump cuts located by forced alignment, each one reviewableNot stated on the pricing page
AI dubbing / translationNoNot stated on the pricing page
Direct social publishingNo. Export zip with paste-ready text, a YouTube Data API body and a TikTok post body per clipYes: 1 account on Free, 6 on Creator, 20 on Business, with scheduling
Agent and API accessMCP server (Streamable HTTP, OAuth optional) and an operator CLIAPI with rate limits by plan (1/min on Free, 10/min on Business)
Usage capNoneCredits: 60 a month free, from 600 a month paid
Accounts and teamsMulti-user with admin approval, per-user quotas and usageBusiness: shared workspace, invited team members, brand kit

What Vizard does better

Which one should you pick?

Pick Vizard if

  • You upload under an hour a month and the free tier covers you.
  • You schedule to several social accounts from the clipping tool.
  • You have no machine to run software on.

Pick Reelsaw if

  • Your sources run past the 10-minute export limit or the 60-minute monthly budget.
  • You want clips to exist longer than 3 days without paying for storage.
  • You need the video to stay on your hardware.
  • You want full control over which models run, including local ones, and an MCP server to drive them.

Common questions

Does Vizard's free plan have a watermark?

The pricing page lists 'No watermark' as a feature added by the Creator plan, which implies the free plan carries one. It also caps free exports at 720p and 10 minutes, with 3-day storage, as of 2026-10-18.

How much does Vizard cost per month?

When checked, the page priced Creator and Business by a yearly credit bundle rather than one monthly figure. Third-party listings quote Creator at $29 a month or about $14.50 a month billed yearly. Verify on vizard.ai before buying.

Is Reelsaw harder to set up than Vizard?

Yes, by one command. Reelsaw needs Docker and about 10 GB of disk; the installer writes a compose file, pulls the image and a language model sized to your RAM, and opens the app. Vizard needs an account.

Related comparisons

Sources

Last updated 2026-10-18.